9th ALFILM Spotlight: Reflections on Arab Masculinities

Madame Courage

9th ALFILM, 9th ALFILM Spotlight, Sun 15/4/18, Tue 17/4/18

Room for a Man

9th ALFILM, 9th ALFILM Official Selection en, 9th ALFILM Spotlight, Sun 15/4/18, Thur 12/4/18

Saken

9th ALFILM, 9th ALFILM Spotlight, Sat 14/4/18

Withered Green

9th ALFILM, 9th ALFILM Official Selection en, 9th ALFILM Spotlight, Mon 16/4/18, Sun 15/4/18

The portrayal of masculinity in cinema is closely tied to societal codes next to aesthetic and content questions. This manifests itself in the physical and mental idealization of the heroic figure inherent to cinematic storytelling. Arab cinema, too, is full of these »supermen«: unionists with rolled-up sleeves, gallant men of the world, and of course handsome princes rescuing their damsels in distress before sailing into the harbour of marriage with them. But Arab cinema has its ambivalent figures as well, whose greatest pioneers have been comedians. The great Egyptian actor Ismail Yassin with his grimaces, who played transsexuals in the 1950s, or shortish Adel Imam who rarely served as the glorious hero but conquered hearts of cinemagoers from all around the Arab world since the 1980s remain unforgotten.

Over the last decades, however, the Arab man has turned into a questionable character as an exotic ornament in Hollywood cinema. He appeared on German screens as a noble savage or a one-dimensional terrorist — as someone who by default raises suspicion. The Arab man was of course complemented with the image of the oppressed woman, which as an orientalizing standard occupied film, literature, and public discourse substantially – until Arab women felt discriminated rather than represented by this discourse which reduces the really existent social problems to a gender-specific disparity. Especially in Germany, the public debate around the influx and integration of refugees has opened up even more new controversies. Clearly, the Arab man has an image problem.

Traditional gender norms and roles are undergoing a transformation not only in the Arab world but all over the world as a representative study by the organizations UN Women and Promundo-US published in 2017 shows. Cinema with its regional diversity plays an important part depicting and artistically challenging this transformation. As an expression of the global crisis of the modern man, the Arab cinema serves not only as a mirror but also as a projection surface for the pitfalls and potentials of a new male image.

The film series »Reflections on Arab Masculinities« presents a selection of nine feature and documentary films that critically renegotiate the changing gender norms in various forms and questions concepts of masculinity based on key elements of its perception: lucrative employment or the ability to materially support the family, protecting the living space as a social and national task, as well as the ability to reproduce. Based on current debates in the Arab world on the economic and political participation of different social groups, feminism, homosexuality, and self-realization, the film series aims to present a thematic and geographic cross-section of these debates and their relevance for the social discourse around gender norms.

The two featured films by Algerian director Merzak Allouache present an essential framework to the series: Omar Gatlato (1976) finds a kind of revenant in his namesake in Madame Courage (2015), where masculinity as a concept becomes a blank pose in a gender-separated, socially unstable society threatening to undermine the young individual and the society.

The Closed Doors shows the impossibility of becoming a man in Egypt of the early 1990s between the awakening sexuality, Islamic fundamentalism and a corrupt society, while The Last Friday laconically discusses the social demands on men to be functioning providers using the example of a failed father in Amman.

Both of the films from the double feature Majnounak and Cinema Fouad look back on Lebanon in the 1990s and challenge male sexuality, desire and gender norms in a documentary format, while Room for a Man uses the camera to reconstruct a queer identity between worlds in today’s Lebanon.

Of heroism and suffering tells the documentary Saken through the story of an unusual male friendship between a paralyzed resistance fighter and his patient caregiver. A female perspective on a society and its rules regulated by men is taken up by Withered Green, in which the stoic protagonist is threatened to fail due to men’s inability to act until she takes over the reins.

The featured films offer an insight into a subject which will be further developed through talks with the audience, a panel discussion with the filmmakers Merzak Allouache, Mohammad Hammad, Eliane Raheb and Mohamed Soueid as well as an audiovisual lecture by Rasha Salti about the history and motifs of masculinity in Arab cinema.

The Spotlight was curated by Claudia Jubeh and funded by the Berlin Senate for Culture and Europe.

9. ALFILM SPOTLIGHT: Reflections on Arab Masculinities

Room for a Man

9. ALFILM, 9. ALFILM Official Selection, 9. ALFILM Spotlight, Do 12.4.18, So 15.4.18

Saken

9. ALFILM, 9. ALFILM Spotlight, Sa 14.4.18

Withered Green

9. ALFILM, 9. ALFILM Official Selection, 9. ALFILM Spotlight, Mo 16.4.18, So 15.4.18

Die Darstellung von Männlichkeit im Film ist neben ästhetischen und inhaltlichen Fragen stets an bestimmte gesellschaftliche Codes gebunden. Diese finden ihre Manifestation in der physischen und mentalen Überhöhung der Heldenfigur, die der filmischen Erzählung innewohnt. Auch das arabische Kino ist voll von diesen »Supermännern«, den zupackenden Gewerkschaftern, den galanten Männern von Welt und natürlich den schönen Prinzen, die ihre Jungfer in Not retten und schließlich in den Hafen der Ehe geleiten. Doch auch das arabische Kino hat seine ambivalenten Figuren, deren große Vorreiter stets die Komiker waren — unvergessen bleibt der große ägyptische Schauspieler Ismail Yassin mit seinen Grimassen, der in den 1950ern auch Transsexuelle spielte, oder der kleine Adel Imam, der nie zum glorreichen Helden taugte und doch die Herzen des Kinopublikums in der gesamten arabischen Welt seit den 1980ern eroberte.

Als exotisches Dekor im Hollywood-Kino der letzten Jahrzehnte jedoch wurde der arabische Mann zu einer zweifelhaften Figur. Er kam als edler Wilder oder eindimensionaler Terrorist auch auf deutsche Leinwände, als der er zunächst standardmäßig Misstrauen hervorrief. Begleitet wurde er vom Bild der unterdrückten Frau, das als ebenfalls orientalisierender Standard in Film, Literatur und öffentlichem Diskurs einen erheblichen Raum einnahm — so lange, bis arabische Frauen sich von diesem Diskurs nicht mehr repräsentiert, sondern diskriminiert fühlten, da die real existierenden sozialen Probleme auf ein geschlechtsspezifisches Missverhältnis reduziert wurden. In Deutschland hat vor allem die öffentliche Debatte um den Zuzug und die Integration von Geflüchteten neue Kontroversen eröffnet — der arabische Mann hat also ein Image-Problem.

Gleichzeitig befinden sich traditionelle Geschlechternormen und -rollen weltweit im Wandel — auch in der arabischen Welt, wie eine 2017 veröffentlichte repräsentative Studie der Organisationen UN Women und Promundo-US zeigt. Das Kino spielt in seiner regionalen Vielfalt eine wichtige Rolle, um diesen Wandel abzubilden und künstlerisch zu hinterfragen. Als Ausdruck der globalen Krise des modernen Mannes ist das arabische Kino nicht nur Spiegel, sondern vor allem Projektionsfläche der Fallstricke und Potentiale eines neuen Männerbildes.

Die Filmreihe »Reflections on Arab Masculinities« stellt eine Auswahl von 9 Spiel- und Dokumentarfilmen vor, die in verschiedenen Formen die sich wandelnden Geschlechternormen kritisch neu verhandeln und dabei Fragen nach Konzepten von Männlichkeit anhand zentraler Elemente des Rollenverständnisses stellen: der Erwerbsarbeit bzw. Fähigkeit zum materiellen Erhalt der Familie, der Sicherung des Lebensraumes als soziale und nationale Aufgabe sowie der Fähigkeit zur Reproduktion. Ausgehend von je aktuellen Debatten in der arabischen Welt um ökonomische und politische Teilhabe verschiedener gesellschaftlicher Gruppen, Feminismus, Homosexualität und Selbstverwirklichung möchte die Filmreihe einen thematischen und geographischen Querschnitt dieser Debatten sowie deren Relevanz für den gesellschaftlichen Diskurs um Geschlechternormen darstellen.

Eine grundlegende Klammer bilden hier die beiden vorgestellten Spielfilme des algerischen Regisseurs Merzak Allouache: sein Omar Gatlato (1976) findet im Namensvetter in Madame Courage (2015) eine Art Wiedergänger, in der Maskulinität als Konzept in einer geschlechtergetrennten, sozial instabilen Gesellschaft zu einer leeren Haltung wird, die das jugendliche Individuum und die Gesellschaft zu zersetzen droht.

Eine unmögliche Mannwerdung im Ägypten der frühen Neunziger zwischen erwachender Sexualität, islamischem Fundamentalismus und einer korrupten Gesellschaft zeigt The Closed Doors, während The Last Friday die gesellschaftlichen Ansprüche an Männer als funktionierende Versorger auf lakonische Weise an einem gescheiterten Vater in Amman neu verhandelt.

Die Filme des Doublefeatures Majnounak und Cinema Fouad blicken zurück in den Libanon der 1990er Jahre, um männliche Sexualität, Begehren und Geschlechternormen dokumentarisch zu hinterfragen, während Room for a Man im Libanon des Heute mithilfe der Kamera eine queere Identität zwischen den Welten rekonstruiert.

Über Heldentum und Leiden erzählt der Dokumentarfilm Saken, von einer ungewöhnlichen Männerfreundschaft zwischen einem gelähmten Widerstandskämpfer und seinem geduldigen Pfleger. Eine weibliche Perspektive auf eine von Männern bestimmte Gesellschaft und ihre Regeln dagegen nimmt Withered Green ein, dessen stoische Protagonistin an der Handlungsunfähigkeit der Männer zu scheitern droht, bis sie selbst die Zügel in die Hand nimmt.

Die gezeigten Filme bieten einen Einblick in das Thema, der durch Publikumsgespräche, eine Podiumsdiskussion mit den Filmemachern Merzak Allouache, Mohammad Hammad, Eliane Raheb und Mohamed Soueid sowie einen audiovisuellen Vortrag von Rasha Salti zu Geschichte und Motiven von Maskulinität im arabischen Kino weiter vertieft wird.

Die Spotlight Reihe wurde kuratiert von Claudia Jubeh und gefördert vom Berliner Senat für Kultur und Europa.