ALFILM – 9th Arab Film Festival Berlin

11. – 18. April 2018

Cinemas Arsenal, fsk, City Kino Wedding, Kino Wolf

  • First Films of the OFFICIAL SELECTION
  • SPOTLIGHT: Reflections on Arab Masculinities

Berlin, March 12, 2018 – In its 9th edition ALFILM offers insights into the cinema of the Arab world and the Arab diaspora with current fiction and documentary films in the OFFICIAL SELECTION – among them festival darlings, German premieres and exciting newcomers as well as three short film programs.

The side section SPOTLIGHT, that alternates yearly with the RETROSPECTIVE, treats the topic Reflections on Arab Masculinities. It addresses the ever-changing concepts and interrogations of the concept of masculinity in Arab cinema from the 1970s to today. A panel discussion and an audiovisual lecture will offer deeper insights into the subject and Arab film history.

This SPOTLIGHT section is funded by the Berlin Senate Department for Culture and Europe.

 

OFFICIAL SELECTION – first highlights

 

The 9th ALFILM opens with BEAUTY AND THE DOGS (Kaouther Ben Hania, FR/TUN/SWE/NOR/LEB/CH/QAT 2017). Mariam is celebrating with her friends at a student party, where she meets Youssef and leaves the party with him. The rest of the evening turns into a tour de force for a young woman that is forced to fight for her rights and dignity. Inspired by a true story, the film paints an atmospheric picture of post-revolution Tunisia in which the old power structures are by no means overcome, and where Mariam’s fight for justice is a female self-assertion against the system. The film had its premiere at the Cannes Festival in 2017.

In presence of the main actress, in cooperation with Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung

 

WAJIB (Annemarie Jacir, PAL/FR/COL/DEU/UAE/QAT/NOR 2017) It is Wajib – an obligation – that leads Shadi (Saleh Bakri) back from Rome to his hometown Nazareth. His sister Amal’s wedding is approaching and according to tradition Shadi has to personally hand over the wedding invitations to all guests alongside his divorced father Abu Shadi (Saleh Bakri’s father Mohammad Bakri). Old personal and political conflicts arise along the path. The film humorously examines the singularities of this Christian milieu where family secrets are kept as confidential as political issues.

 

In MY PARADISE (Ekrem Heydo, GER/KUR-SYR 2016), an old class picture leads director Heydo after 25 years back to his hometown Serê Kaniyê (Ras el-Ain) in the Kurdish part of Northern Syria. The photo depicts the multiethnic society of Arabs, Kurds, Chechens and Armenians, split in different ethnic and confessional camps since the outbreak of the Syrian Civil War. Ekrem Heydo does not reunite with all of his classmates. This journey into the past becomes a search for the foundation of living side-by-side in a politically unstable region. In presence of the director

 

With 17 (Widad Shafakoj, Jordan 2017) ALFILM presents a documentary that follows the Jordanian under-17 women’s football team in their preparation for the under-17 FIFA Women’s World Cup in Jordan in 2016. The players with diverse social and athletic backgrounds, face a great challenge: they will come up against the best players of their league. 17 is a sensible homage to the willpower these girls have to muster up in a traditional country for a sport that is still a male domain.

 

SPOTLIGHT

This year’s SPOTLIGHT will be opened by the Lebanese documentary ROOM FOR A MAN (Anthony Chidiac, LBN/USA 2017). Out of a room decorated in baroque interior, a camera focuses on the outside world. The camera becomes the filmmakers mediator and accomplice in his autobiographical exploration of concepts of manhood and belonging. Between a dominant mother, an absent father and the Syrian construction workers renovating Anthony’s teenage bedroom, the reconstruction of a queer identity between Argentina and Lebanon takes place. In presence of the director

 

A classic of Arab cinema, OMAR GATLATO (Merzak Allouache, ALG 1976), presents masculinity and machism as central elements to the life of Omars, who shares a crowded apartment with his family in Algier. He cockily roams the streets of his city with this friends and experiences romantic phantasies in Bollywood movies, but his true passion is music. Though real encounters with the opposite sex make him insecure, hearing the voice of mysterious Selma on a second-hand cassette, makes him fall under her spell. In presence of the director

 

In the double feature MAJNOUNAK and CINEMA FOUAD male sexuality and transsexuality take centre stage: In MAJNOUNAK: On Men, Sex and the City (Akram Zaatari, LBN 1997/2016) the filmmaker asks several men along Beirut’s coast to give an in-depth account of a specific sexual encounter in 1997. The resulting portraits were reassembled and remastered in 2016. CINEMA FOUAD (Mohammed Soueid, LBN 1994) paints an intimate portrait of Syrian transsexual Khaled El Kurdi, drawing a line from everyday scenes to El Kurdis work as a dancer in a Beiruti nightclub to his involvement as a fighter in the Lebanese Civil War.

 

In addition to that a Lecture by Rasha Salti within the framework of the SPOTLIGHT „Reflections on Arab Masculinities“ will be presented. Rasha Salti is a curator and author living between Berlin and Beirut. She curated international exhibitions and film series about different Arab cinematographies and art forms and is currently working as an editor for the documentary format „La Lucarne“ at Arte.

 

A Panel discussion with film guests Merzak Allouache, Mohammad Hammad, Mohamed Soueid and Eliane Raheb furthers explores the topic of the SPOTLIGHT section.

 

The Spotlight was curated by Claudia Jubeh.

 

Further highlights:
Specials: A program around „70 years Nakba“ – including a lecture by filmmaker and producer Mohanad Yaqubi and films by Mustafa Abu Ali, Mohamad Malas and Kamal Aljafari.

ALFILM – 9. Arabisches Filmfestival Berlin

11. – 18. April 2018

Kino Arsenal, fsk, City Kino Wedding, Kino Wolf

  • Erste Filme der OFFICIAL SELECTION
  • SPOTLIGHT: Reflections on Arab Masculinities

Berlin, 12. März 2018 – ALFILM bietet in seiner 9. Ausgabe mit aktuellen Spiel- und Dokumentarfilmen in der OFFICIAL SELECTION erneut Einblicke in das Kino der arabischen Welt und der arabischen Diaspora – darunter Festivallieblinge, Deutschlandpremieren und aufregende Newcomer.

Die Nebenreihe SPOTLIGHT, die sich jährlich mit der RETROSPEKTIVE abwechselt, hat dieses Jahr das Thema „Reflections on Arab Masculinities“. Sie beschäftigt sich mit den sich wandelnden Konzepten und Fragestellungen von Männlichkeit im arabischen Film der 1970er bis heute. Eine Podiumsdiskussion sowie ein audiovisueller Vortrag bieten dazu vertiefte Einblicke in Thema und Filmgeschichte.

Die SPOTLIGHT-Reihe wird gefördert von der Berliner Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa.

 

OFFICIAL SELECTION – erste Highlights

 

Eröffnet wird das 9. ALFILM mit BEAUTY AND THE DOGS (Kaouther Ben Hania, Frankreich/ Tunesien/ Schweden/ Norwegen/ Libanon/ Schweiz/ Katar 2017). Mariam (Mariam Al Ferjani) feiert mit ihren Freunden auf einer Party, wo sie Youssef kennenlernt, mit dem sie die Feier verlässt. Es folgt eine Tour de force für die junge Frau, die um ihre Rechte und Würde kämpfen muss. Nach einer wahren Geschichte zeichnet der Film ein atmosphärisches Bild des nachrevolutionären Tunesiens, in dem die alten Machtstrukturen längst noch nicht überwunden sind, und Mariams Kampf zu einer weiblichen Selbstbehauptung gegen das System wird. Der Film wurde auf dem Filmfestival in Cannes 2017 uraufgeführt.

In Anwesenheit der Hauptdarstellerin, in Zusammenarbeit mit der Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung

 

WAJIB (Annemarie Jacir, Palästina/ Frankreich/ Kolumbien/ Deutschland/ VAE/ Katar/ Norwegen 2017) Wajib – eine Verpflichtung – ist es, die Shadi (Saleh Bakri) aus Rom zurück in seine Heimat Nazareth führt. Dort steht die Heirat seiner Schwester Amal an, und Shadi muss gemäß der Tradition an der Seite seines Vaters Abu Shadi die Hochzeits-einladungen allen Gästen überreichen. En route brechen dabei alte persönliche und politische Konflikte zwischen beiden Männern auf. Humorvoll werden dabei die Eigenheiten dieses christlichen Milieus beleuchtet, wo über Familiengeheimnisse genauso gern geschwiegen wird wie über Politisches.

 

In MEIN PARADIES (Ekrem Heydo, Deutschland/Kurdistan-Syrien 2016) führt ein altes Klassenfoto Regisseur Heydo 25 Jahre später zurück in seine Heimat Serê Kaniyê (Ras el-Ain) im kurdischen Teil Nordsyriens. Das Foto bildet die multiethnische Gesellschaft aus Arabern, Kurden, Tschetschenen und Armeniern ab, die seit dem Ausbruch des syrischen Bürgerkriegs in unterschiedliche ethnische und konfessionelle Lager gespalten ist. Nicht alle seine Klassenkameraden findet Ekrem Heydo wieder. Die Reise in die Vergangenheit wird zu einer Suche nach den Grundlagen des Zusammenlebens in einer politisch instabilen Region. In Anwesenheit des Regisseurs

 

Mit 17 (Widad Shafakoj, Jordanien 2017) präsentiert ALFILM eine Dokumentation, die das jordanische U-17 Frauenfußballteam während der Vorbereitung zur FIFA U-17 Frauenweltmeisterschaft in Jordanien 2016 begleitet. Die Spielerinnen mit unterschied-lichen sozialen und sportlichen Hintergründen stellen sich einer großen Herausforderung: Sie werden auf die weltbesten Teams ihrer Klasse treffen. Der Film ist eine sensible Hommage an die Willenskraft, die diese Mädchen in einem traditionellen Land für einen Sport aufbringen, der noch immer eine Männerdomäne ist.

 

SPOTLIGHT

Das diesjährige SPOTLIGHT wird eröffnet mit dem libanesischen Film ROOM FOR A MAN (Anthony Chidiac, Libanon/USA 2017). Aus einem barock dekorierten Zimmer richtet sich eine Kamera auf die Außenwelt. Sie wird zum Mittler und Komplizen des Filmemachers in dieser autobiographischen Exploration der Konzepte von Männlichkeit und Zugehörigkeit. Zwischen einer dominanten Mutter, einem abwesenden Vater und den syrischen Bau-arbeitern, die Anthonys Jugendzimmer renovieren, beginnt die Rekonstruktion einer queeren Identität zwischen Argentinien und dem Libanon. In Anwesenheit des Regisseurs

 

Einen Klassiker des arabischen Kinosstellt OMAR GATLATO (Merzak Allouache, Algerien 1976) dar. Männlichkeit und Machismo sind zentrale Elemente im Leben von Omar, der mit seiner Großfamilie in einem Apartment in Algier lebt. Großmäulig durchstreift er mit seinen Freunden die Straßen der Stadt und erlebt im Kino die Romantik-Phantasien des Bollywood-Films, doch seine wahre Leidenschaft ist die Musik. Echte Begegnungen mit dem anderen Geschlecht verunsichern ihn, bis ihn eines Tages die Stimme der geheimnisvollen Selma auf einer gebrauchten Kassette in den Bann schlägt. In Anwesenheit des Regisseurs

 

In dem Doublefeature MAJNOUNAK und CINEMA FOUAD stehen männliche Sexualität und Transsexualität im Mittelpunkt: In MAJNOUNAK: On Men, Sex and the City (Akram Zaatari, Libanon 1997/2016) bittet der Filmemacher 1997 verschiedene Männer entlang der Küste Beiruts, von einem spezifischen sexuellen Erlebnis ausführlich zu berichten. Die so entstandenen Portraits wurden 2016 neu arrangiert und technisch überarbeitet. CINEMA FOUAD (Mohammed Soueid, Libanon 1994) ist ein intimes Portrait des syrischen Transsexuellen Khaled El Kurdi, das einen Bogen von Alltagsszenen hin zu El Kurdis Arbeit als Tänzer in einem Beiruter Nachtclub und seiner Beteiligung als Kämpfer im libanesischen Bürgerkrieg schlägt.

 

Vortrag von Rasha Salti zum SPOTLIGHT „Reflections on Arab Masculinities“. Rasha Salti lebt als Kuratorin und Autorin zwischen Berlin und Beirut. Sie kuratierte internationale Ausstellungen und Filmreihen zu verschiedenen arabischen Kinematographien und Kunstrichtungen, und ist derzeit Redakteurin des Dokumentarfilmformats „La Lucarne“ bei Arte.

 

Podiumsdiskussion zum SPOTLIGHT „Reflections on Arab Masculinities. Gespräch mit den Filmgästen Merzak Allouache, Mohammad Hammad, Mohamed Soueid und Eliane Raheb

 

Die Spotlight Reihe wurde kuratiert von Claudia Jubeh.

 

Weitere Highlights:
Neben einem Special „70 Jahre Nakba“ mit einem Vortrag von Regisseur und Produzent Mohanad Yaqubi sowie Filmen von Mustafa Abu Ali, Mohamad Malas und Kamal Aljafari wird es drei verschiedene Kurzfilmreihen geben.